ImpactECON Staff


Peter Minor, Managing Director

Pete founded ImpactECON in 2010. He brings over 20 years of experience as an economic consultant to his clients. Pete started consulting with Nathan Associates Inc. in 1993, when he was hired to perform analysis of the then proposed North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and World Trade Organization (WTO) Uruguay Round. The results of these analysis were notable for their high attainment of exposure to both industry and government negotiators creating a common bases for talks in textiles and apparel negotiations. For the next ten years, Pete Minor was called on by industry and governments to provide industry and economy wide analysis of trade agreements including: The Free Trade Area of the Americas (FTAA), NAFTA Parity Initiatives for the Caribbean (CBI-Parity), The Caribbean Economic Recovery Act (CBERA), The Central American Free Trade Agreement-DR (CAFTA-DR), and The African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA).

Starting in 2001, Mr. Minor focused on assisting developing countries adapt to the new trade environment and was commissioned by USAID and foreign countries to provide analysis which included a report on the changing trade environment and its impacts on developing countries, with a special emphasis on textile and apparel trade. His report “Changing Trade Rules for Textiles and Apparel” co-authored with Erin Endean of CARANA Corp., was widely quoted and resulted in numerous speaking engagements around the world. The report was notable for both its technical rigor and for its accessibility to a wide audience resulting in high impact. This report set a standard which ImpactECON continues to strive for: clarity and technical rigor.

In 2010, Pete established ImpactECON, LLC. a company focused on international trade economics and economic modeling. In 2011, Mr. Minor was awarded a Bank of the Netherlands Partnership Program\World Bank (BNPP) grant to co-direct the GTAP Africa project, a two year program including modeling, teaching and research components. This grant was completed in 2013 and resulted in the creation of the MyGTAP model and the GTAP Africa Database. In 2012, Mr. Minor was awarded a GTAP Research Fellowship for “outstanding contributions” to the computable general equilibrium field (CGE) including modeling, teaching and service to the community.

Terrie Walmsley, Director and Senior Economist

Terrie Walmsley completed her PhD in 1999 with Professor Alan Powell at Monash University and joined the Center for Global Trade Analysis (GTAP) as a post-doctoral research fellow in the following year. After a short period teaching in United Kingdom, Terrie rejoined the GTAP Center in 2003 as Associate Director, and was promoted to Director in 2005 (a position she held until 2013).

As Director of the Center for Global Trade Analysis and Associate Professor at Purdue University, Terrie was responsible for managing versions six, seven and eight of the GTAP database and led numerous efforts at the GTAP Center to incorporate innovative data sets into the GTAP Satellite data series including migration (GATS mode 4), FDI, trade facilitation non-tariff measures and forecasts for the dynamic model.

Her research interests include modeling foreign direct investment and labor mobility within the GTAP framework in the context of trade liberalization. Dr. Walmsley has published numerous articles in leading modeling journals and has also led major extensions to the GTAP Standard model, including the development of the GMig2 migration model, the GTAP supply chain model and the MyGTAP model including multiple households; and to the Dynamic GTAP model. In 2012, Terrie published as co-editor, with Dr. Elena Ianchovichina from the World Bank, a book documenting the Dynamic GTAP model. Most recently she has assisted the OECD with the development of their CGE model, METRO. Terrie has undertaken numerous trade and migration policy studies for more than a dozen international agencies such as the World Bank, the Asian Development Bank, U.S. International Trade Commission (USITC), the European Commission, and the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) among others.